OAG Survivors' Council (Special meeting via Zoom)

Meeting Minutes

June 5, 2020

Present:	Co-Chair, Denise Durbin, Hilary Sykes, Kathleen Niedstadt, Kristina Smith, Cal
	Pfeiffer, Ify Whitfill, Aaron Ash; non-members: Ali Parham and Miranda
	Brown, OVA employees
Next meeting:	July 11, 2020, 12 pm, Zoom Virtual platform

1. Announcements

Call to order at 12:04 pm by Co-Chair, Denise Durbin Introductions of attendees Motion to approve October 19, 2019 Minutes made by Hilary Sykes, seconded by Kathleen Niedstadt

2. Discussion

Ms. Durbin explain the Open Meetings Act, compliance issues and its application to the Council.

Council discussed the next regular meeting dates. Hilary Sykes motioned for July 11 and October 9, respectively, both at 12pm. Kristina Smith seconded.

Motion made by Ms. Sykes to table discussion of the Council's initiatives until interest in the project can be gauged. Ms. Smith seconded the motion. It was determined that an email will be sent containing a questionnaire reference:

- 1. Interest in serving on the Council; interest in a co-chair; interest in serving for a longer term due to delay in meeting due to COVID-19
- 2. Interest in participating in the Council's initiative of creating a Trauma Informed Courtroom Guide
- 3. Survivors' Council upcoming frequency of regular meeting dates
- 4. Interest in providing training for LEOs through DOCJT

Ms. Durbin expressed her sadness at the resignation of co-chair, Lashana Harris, but understands and extended heartfelt appreciation and thanks for Ms. Harris' contributions to the Survivors' Council.

Motion to adjourn made at 1:35pm by Ms. Sykes and seconded by Cal Pfeiffer.