

## RUSSELL COLEMAN ATTORNEY GENERAL DEPARTMENT OF LAW

## **EXECUTIVE ORDER**

## 2024-08 July 1, 2024

WHEREAS, during the 2021 legislative session, the Kentucky General Assembly passed House Bill 427, which creates an opioid abatement trust fund to distribute settlement proceeds from lawsuits against certain manufacturers and distributors of opioids;

WHEREAS, Attorney General Russell Coleman is committed to saving lives and combatting the drug crisis in Kentucky, including by litigating claims against several companies for their roles in fueling and exacerbating the opioid crisis;

WHEREAS, KRS 15.291 has established the Kentucky Opioid Abatement Advisory Commission to award moneys from the Opioid Abatement Trust Fund;

WHEREAS, the Commission has distributed more than \$55 million to date, bolstering prevention, treatment, and enforcement efforts across all 120 of Kentucky's counties; WHEREAS, KRS 15.291 provides that the Commission shall be attached to the Department of Law for administrative purposes;

WHEREAS, KRS 15.291 provides that the Commission is composed of the Attorney General, or his designees; the State Treasurer, or his designee; the secretary of the Cabinet for Health and Family Services, or his designee; one member appointed by the University of Kentucky from the HEALing Communities Study Team; one nonvoting member appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; one nonvoting member appointed by the President of the Senate; and five members appointed by the Attorney General pursuant to KRS 15.291(2)(a)(5) through 15.291 (2)(a)(8); and,

WHEREAS, two-year terms for several members of the Commission expired on June 30, 2024;

**NOW, THEREFORE**, pursuant to the authority vested in me by KRS 15.291(2)(a)(7), I, Russell Coleman, Attorney General of the Commonwealth of Kentucky, do hereby Order and Direct the appointment of the following individuals to the Commission:

1. **Jason Roop, PhD**, of Campbellsville, representing, pursuant to KRS 15.291(2)(a)(5), victims of the opioid crisis, who shall serve for a two-year term expiring June 30, 2026; and,

Van Ingram, of Frankfort, representing, pursuant to KRS 15.291
(2)(a)(6), the drug treatment and prevention community, who shall serve for a two-year term expiring June 30, 2026.

This order shall also confirm the following appointments received by the Office of the Attorney General:

1. **Dr. Patricia Freeman**, of Lexington, appointed, pursuant to KRS 15.291 (2)(a)(4), by the University of Kentucky from the HEALing Communities Study Team, who shall serve for a two-year term expiring June 30, 2026;

2. **The Honorable Chris Fugate**, of Chavies, appointed, pursuant to KRS 15.291 (2)(b)(1), by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, who shall serve at the pleasure of the Speaker of the House of Representatives; and,

Karen Kelly, of Somerset, appointed pursuant to KRS 15.291
(2)(b)(2), by the President of the Senate, who shall serve at the pleasure of the President of the Senate.

So **ORDERED** this the 1<sup>st</sup> day of July, 2024.

all M. Col.

RUSSELL COLEMAN, Attorney General Commonwealth of Kentucky